Dorman Award


Bruce Dorman was an active participant  in the local and regional sailing scene from at least the early 1970’s until his untimely death in 1991. During that time he was active in the Sunfish class, the Soling class and in several offshore sailing boats that all went by the name “Chaos”. He was a regular winner of CYC races in the Sunfish class from the early 70’s until his death. He won the Azalea Festival Regatta (later named the Azalea Regatta) nine times between 1972 and 1990. This early season race was renamed the Dorman Memorial Regatta after his death. He was one of the organizers of the Soling fleet that attracted some of the area’s best sailor for a number of years in the 70’s and 80’s. He was active in the Wrightsville Beach Ocean Racing Association and was a consistent winner locally and regionally in his first “Chaos”, a Chance Offshore One-Design. He was a mentor to numerous younger sailors throughout  his sailing days both in the Sunfish and in his offshore boats.


The Board shall annually select a Club member for the award of a trophy dedicated to the memory of Dr. Bruce H. Dorman.  The criteria to be considered for the Dorman Award shall consist primarily of skill competitiveness, and interest in sailboat racing.  All sailing events, local or other club, may be considered.  Other attributes of the recipient as they relate directly to the sailboat racing may be considered, but Bruce Dorman was first and foremost a dedicated and skillful race competitor and the award should go to the sailor who most typifies his spirit.

The award itself shall remain the property of the Club and be displayed appropriately.  It shall be engraved each year with the year and name of the recipient.  A second trophy shall be given to the recipient bearing the name of the award, "Dorman Award", and the year and the recipient's name.

The Dorman Award shall also bear engraving as follows:

"In memory of Dr. Bruce H. Dorman - a skillful sailboat racing competitor."



Past Recipients

1992 Donald Fisher
1996 Martin Willard
1994 John Sawyer
1995 Pierce Barden
1996 Jimmy Carter
1997 Paul Whitesides
1999 Tom Hanna
2000 Chip Whitesides
2001 Martin Willard
2002 Billy Raney
2003 Eddie Nowell
2004 Jim harris
2005 Martin Willard
2006 Bill Smith
2007 John Sawyer
2008 Chip Till
2009 Paul Whitesides
2010 Bill Smith
2011 Martin Willard
2012 Parks Blair
2013 Glenn Walker
2014 Chip Till
2015 Martin Willard
2016 Martin Willard
2017 Chase Carraway
2018 Cothran Harris
2019 Chase Carraway


Follow Us
401 S. Lumina Avenue, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480 | Phone# 910-256-3396 | Fax# 910-256-0120