Carolina Yacht Club Hall of Fame


In 2003, a decision was made to honor past sailors by renaming the “Sportsmanship Award” the “Billy Head Sportsmanship Award”, and to change the honoree every five years. Subsequently the award was the “Donald Fisher Sportsmanship Award”, and the “Herb McKim Sportsmanship Award”. In 2017, the Sailing/Regatta Committee decided that we would return to the “Sportsmanship Award”, and honor our outstanding sailors by creating a CYC Sailors “Hall of Fame”. The first year’s inductees would be Billy Head, Donald Fisher, Herb McKim. In subsequent years any club member wishing to make a nomination to the Hall of fame should deliver a letter of nomination to the club office no later than Labor Day. The criteria for induction, would be exceptional accomplishments in the sport of sailboat racing as a competitor or in a management role. It is desirable, but not mandatory that nominees have represented the Carolina yacht Club in Regional and/or National Sailing events. To be eligible for nomination the nominee must have ceased to be active in competitive sailboat racing or race management for a minimum of two years prior to the nomination. The sailing committee would review any nominations, and select up to two members per year to be inducted into the Hall of Fame at the annual sailing awards program or the annual meeting.




Donald Fisher
Billy Head
Herb McKim


Samuel Barfield
Dr. Joe James

 2019 Roy Hobbs
Sam Sprunt


Follow Us
401 S. Lumina Avenue, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480 | Phone# 910-256-3396 | Fax# 910-256-0120